New Jersey changed the application process in late 2020, and now it’s fully online.
Before you start your process, we would like to mention what are some of the main disqualifies in New Jersey that can prevent a person from owning a firearm:
Certain Persons Not to Have Weapons: N.J.S.A. 2C:39-7
Certain Persons Not to Have Weapons is governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:39-7, which provides that if you have been convicted of certain felonies in New Jersey or any other State, then you are not permitted to purchase, own, or possess a firearm in New Jersey. The crimes that prevent you from having a weapon in New Jersey if convicted include: robbery, aggravated assault, burglary, arson, extortion, homicide, kidnapping, escape, sexual assault, aggravated sexual assault, endangering the welfare of a child, stalking, and bias intimidation. The statute mandates that if you have been convicted of any of these crimes or similar crimes in another state, then you are not allowed to possess a weapon in NJ. If you do, you could be charged with a certain persons offense. The certain persons law also applies to anyone convicted of domestic violence charges, including disorderly persons offenses. Lastly, if you were institutionalized for a mental illness, you cannot have a weapon without medical authorization and a letter of clearance from a licensed practitioner.
PROCESS TO OBTAIN YOUR F.I.D. LICENSE AND GUN PURCHASE PERMIT
Follow these simple steps, it takes approximately 10 to 15 min to fully fill the application.
*Prior to filling out the above application make sure that you have 2 references with their names ,address, cell phone number and you must have their email address
- Go to WESHOOTUSA.COM, in the SERVICE tab, select the ORI NUMBERS, and find your Police Department two letter and 7 digit number (example: For Lakewood use NJ0151400). Copy or write down that number, you will be required to enter it on the next step. You can also use this link: https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/files/NACJD/ORIs/34oris.html
OUT OF STATE APPLICANTS ORI NUMBERS LINK: https://www.njsp.org/firearms/ori-list.shtml
Enter your ORI NUMBER in the field
3) Fill out the entire application.
When prompted for reason of application, if its your first time, make sure to check Initial Firearms Purchaser Identification Card and Permit to purchase a Handgun (if you intend to purchase a handgun)
A. Initial firearms purchaser identification card or F.I.D Card (Necessary to buy Long Guns and Ammo, you only do this once)
B. Permit to purchase a handgun (we recommend you request a minimum of 2)
The State Police NJSP 212A Statutory Fee plus service fee is $21
You will be required to pay $2.00 per handgun permit to the Issuing Police Department.
4) When you completed the application process, PRINT OUT or save all copies for future reference as well as your fingerprinting application that NJSP will provide upon application completion.
Scheduling your fingerprint (initial application only)
To schedule an IdentoGO®️ application for finger printing, you’ll need to log on to https://uenroll.identogo.com/
Enter your correspondent ORI code
If you don’t know your service code, go to Tab > then select NEW JERSEY > then click submit > A prompt will follow with a list of ORI > scroll down > select the ORI code for your Police Dept > another prompt drop down menu will form on the page> select FIR > another drop-down menu will appear select 2C:58-1 > then click submit another drop down menu will appear > click B1
Once the above is complete you’ll be asked to schedule an appointment. You may put in a different Township possibly even somewhere in North Jersey see if you can secure yourself an appointment there
IMPORTANT: Make sure your references fill out the necessary paperwork and submit it back to the electronic application they’ll receive in their e-mail.
Good luck on your application and you should receive a call when you are approved.
Approval times vary upon Police Department, but they average 2 to 4 months.
*Information subject to changes, please check the latest information and fees in the New Jersey State Police Website or with your local Police Department.
Please visit the New Jersey State Police Website
Disclosure: Information and links are subject to errors and changes, please check with your local authorities for the latest updates.